Anesthesiology board exam study course reviews: Jensen (Anesthesiology Review) vs. George (Ultimate Board Prep)

Dapperduane

Staff member
Aug 8, 2019
Gilbert, AZ
First a little background about me. I am a pretty decent written test taker, studied engineering in college and excelled in math and sciences. The anesthesia written exam was not hard for me; through college and medical school I did well on most written exams with little preparation. That said, I am not a public speaker, I loathe public debates. I stumble over my words, stick my foot in my mouth and get cold sweats when I speak in front of a crowd. I did not run for any political or student body offices. In a nutshell, I am not an eloquent speaker.

Now that you have the background, let me run you through my four attempts at the oral exam.
1) I thought I could do it myself and in fact I thought I did ok. I studied lots of videos and books to get the knowledge down.
FAIL

2) More of the same...
FAIL

3) Okay, another year and several thousands of dollars lost prepping for my third exam, this time I signed up for Dr. Jensen's Anesthesiology board review class because it is the gold standard and has been around a long time. I travelled to Texas and participated in the classes, I listened to all of his board tapes. I also purchased half of the question sets from Dr. George's UltimateBoardPrep and practiced...by myself (don't make the same mistake I did). I also had access to his online videos which I thought were very good....
FAIL